Fusarium is one of the most agriculturally important genera of fungi and affects plants, humans, and animals’ health. The prevalence of mycotoxins producing species of Fusarium in the food and the environment is hazardous to the living being. Mycotoxins are secondary metabolites of fungi that contaminate a variety of agricultural products, and are a serious threat to food safety. Food and Agricultural Organization (FAO) reported that more than 25% of the world’s food crops were contaminated with a variety of mycotoxins. Fusarium produces chemically diverse toxins viz., fumonisins (FUM), zearalenone (ZEA), trichothecenes (TRI) in food and feed. The consumption of mycotoxins contaminated food displayed/ exhibited various types of toxicity in humans and animals viz., teratogenic, estrogenic, carcinogenic, immune- suppressive, and neurotoxic effects. The prevention of mycotoxin contamination in the food and feed chain is a challenging task for researchers. The use of physical and chemical methods forms toxic by-products that lead to secondary contamination; also deteriorate the quality of food. Lactic acid bacteria, yeast are more effective biological control of mycotoxins, easy to process, and eco-friendly. We have demonstrated the probiotic potential of novel Lactococcus lactis BIONCL17752on growth inhibition of Fusarium graminearum, Fusarium verticillioides, and their mycotoxins ZEA and FUM. Also, efficacy against bacterial, anti-biofilm formation abilities. We recommend L. lactis for a novel biocontrol agent, substitute Antibiotic growth promoters in poultry, and could be used as a food-grade preservative in food and feed industries.


I am Vishwambar Navale working as a Ph.D. student at CSIR-National Chemical Laboratory, Pune India. Currently, I am working on toxigenic fungi and their mycotoxins detections and management in food and feed system. I have done my bachelor’s and master’s degree in Biotechnology from Dr. Babasaheb Ambedkar Marathwada University, Aurangabad.

Exam qualified: CSIR-NET (2017), ICAR NET (2016),

Awards and Fellowships: CSIR-NET JRF (2016), Eaklavya scholarship (2012-2014)